top of page


ISTH 2022 Congress Chair:

Beverley Hunt 2021.jpg
Beverley Hunt, M.D., O.B.E.

Professor of Thrombosis and Haemostasis
King's College 

Guy & St. Thomas NHS Foundation Trust

Professor Hunt is the current chair of the World Thrombosis Day Steering Committee. She also sat on the English National Venous Thromboembolism (VTE) Prevention Clinical Advisory Group and all the previous NICE Guidelines Development groups for the management and prevention of VTE and the NICE VTE standards development committees. 

In 2009, Hunt won the NHS London innovation award for laboratory assays. She is the co-founder and Medical Director of Thrombosis UK, which was named "Health Charity of the Year 2010" and "Patient Group of 2010" for campaigning for mandated prevention of hospital-acquired blood clots in England.

Hunt was appointed Officer of the Order of the British Empire (OBE) in the 2019 Birthday Honours for services to medicine.

ISTH 2022 Congress Local Organizing Committee:

Congress Chair

Beverley Hunt, M.D., O.B.E. | London, England, U.K.

King’s College London


Congress Vice Chair

Robert Ariëns, Ph.D. | Leeds, England, U.K.

University of Leeds


Scientific Program Chair Basic

Anna Randi, M.D., Ph.D. | London, England, U.K.

Imperial College London


Scientific Program Chair Clinical

Marcel Levi, M.D., Ph.D. | Amsterdam, the Netherlands

Netherlands Science Council, Amsterdam University Medical Center, & University College London


SSC Liaison Representative

Nicola Mutch, Ph.D. | Aberdeen, Scotland, U.K.

University of Aberdeen


Early Career Representative

Suthesh Sivapalaratnam, M.D, Ph.D. | London, England, U.K.

The Royal London Hospital


Executive Member

Willem Ouwehand, M.D., Ph.D. | London, England, U.K.

University of Cambridge


Executive Member

Steve Watson, Ph.D. | Birmingham, England, U.K.

University of Birmingham


Executive Member

Marie Scully, M.D. | London, England, U.K.

University College London

bottom of page